The Sinclair Corporate News Division's mission is to always be raising the quality of the news product and community commitment at all of our 14 award winning news operations. 

Our goals are to make our newscasts top choices of viewers and our newsrooms good places to work.

View the complete list of news operations

WRGB Albany, NY
Regional Murrow - Best Feature - Camp Inspiration - Liz Bishop
First Place winners of 2013 New York State Associated Press Broadcasters Association Awards - Greg Floyd, Jim McCann
General Excellence of Individual Reporting - Greg Floyd

WLOS Ashville, NC
2014 EMMY awards
Outstanding Achievement: Television Crafts Achievement Excellence - WRITER – NEWS - John Le
Outstanding Achievement: Television Crafts Achievement Excellence - PHOTOGRAPHER – NEWS - John Kirtley

KEYE Austin, TX
2013 EMMY Award winner:
Weather - News Single Story/Series/Feature - A Town Drying Up - Thomas Swafford, Photographer/Editor, Adam Winkler: Barbara Jordan Medal
Texas AP awards;
Feature (Serious) - Honorable Mention: - Escape From Death Row - Adam Racusin & Josh Beebe

WBFF Baltimore, MD - Melinda Roeder & Jed Gamber
AP Awards
Outstanding News Operation of the Year
Outstanding Spot News Reporting - "Navy Yard Shooting" - Kathleen Cairns, Dave Larson

KBAK/KBFX Bakersfield, CA
Won a regional Edward R. Murrow Award in the Sports Reporting category
2013 - 4 RTNA Golden Mike Awards
EMMY awards - Government and Politics category - California’s new drought; a labor shortage in the fields - Jonathan Gonzalez and Johnny Guillen

WICD Champaign, IL
2nd Place - Best Sports Report - Josh Getzoff
2nd Place - Best Light Feature - Jenese Harris/Brian Singer

WCHS/WVAH Charleston-Huntington, WV
Station of the Year - WCHS - West Virginia Broadcasters Association Awards
Best Sportscast - Mark Martin - West Virginia Broadcasters Association Awards
Best Hard News Coverage - Stephano Dipietrantonio - West Virginia Broadcasters Association Awards
Best PM Newscast - Fox Eyewitness News at 10 - West Virginia Broadcasters Association Awards
Best Anchor - Dan Matics - West Virginia Broadcasters Association Awards

WCIV Charleston, SC
3rd place - NPPA Quarterly Clip Contest for Feature - Photojournalist Josh Braunreuther
Honorable Mention - NPPA Quarterly Clip Contest - General News - Chief Photojournalist Dave MacQueen
South Carolina Broadcasters Association STAR Award - Local Programming - Half hour special on childhood obesity - Photojournalist Dave MacQueen, Anchor Victoria Hansen and News Director Cathy Hobbs

KXRM Colorado Springs, CO
Colorado Broadcasters Association Award of Excellence - 1st Place – "Best Morning Newscast"
Colorado Broadcasters Association Award of Excellence - 2nd Place – "Best Early Evening Newscast"

WSYX/WTTE Columbus, OH
Best Continuing Coverage - 2nd place - Ryan Bradford 'There will be Fear'
Enterprise Reporting/Shooting - 2nd place - Ryan Bradford 'Big Bucks for Bronze'

WEYI Flint, MI
Michigan Association of Broadcasters 2014 Broadcast Excellence Award for Best Photojournalism and Special Interest Programming

KGBT Harlingen, TX
Texas AP Awards - 1st Place, Spot Story Individual Category - Daisy Martinez, "Man Armed with Assault Rifle Barricaded Inside Brownsville Home"
Readers Choice award for the Brownsville Herald and The Monitor
-Marcy Martinez was named "Best TV Personality" by readers in the Brownsville Herald in August.
-Marcy Martinez was named "Best TV Personality" by readers in The Monitor in September.

WHP Harrisburg, PA
2014 PAB (Pennsylvania Association of Broadcasters) awards. We won for "Outstanding Investigative Story" for the piece we did on a big-time lottery winner on welfare.
2014 Edward R. Murrow Regional Award Winner, Feature Reporting, "6-year-old Motorcycle Champ" - Jason Bristol - Sports Director and Photojournalist - Colin Powell

WJAC Johnstown, PA
Pennsylvania Broadcasters Association - Outstanding Television Spot News - "Flash Flooding"

KATV Little Rock, AR
Regional Emmy for Continuing Coverage - "The Spirit of Arkansas in Africa" series - Larry Potter & Erin Hawley

WGME Portland, ME
1st place Best Newscast - Joe Hegarty/Matt Curren 1st place Best Weathercast - Charlie Lopresti

WLUC Marquette, MI
Michigan Association of Broadcasters - 2013 Broadcast Excellence Awards
2013 Station of the Year – Commercial Television-Market 4

WPMI Mobile, AL
Reporter of the Year by the Alabama Broadcaster’s Association - This is the second year in a row Andrea has received such an honor—she is the first two time winner in this category in the history of the award. - Andrea Ramey

WZTV Nashville, TN
1st Place - Best Short Light Feature - Ian Bailey
1st Place - Best Long Light Feature - Erika Lathon, Kyle Benton
2nd Place - Best TV Newscast - David Ditmore, Sarah Shiverdecker

KOKH Oklahoma City, OK
Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters "Outstanding Achievement" award for Morning Newscast (best Morning News in Oklahoma!)
Associated Press Awards: 1st, 3rd and 4th place in Investigative Reporting Category

KATU Portland, OR
2014 Edward R. Murrow for Best Website in the NW region
2014 EMMY awards
Evening Newscast
Sports Feature
Anchor - Steve Dunn
Producer - 11 pm news - James Gorcos

Quincy, IL
2014 IBNA
2nd place FEATURE category "Mystery Priest" story

2014 Murrow Region 2 – Small Market
Investigative Reporting: Gulf War Fallout - Elias Johnson
Feature Reporting: Silver State Heroes Honor Flight Nevada - Elias Johnson

WOAI San Antonio, TX
Texas Associated Press Broadcasters: TAPB-Freedom of Information Foundation of Texas Award (2013)
2013 Lone Star Emmy Award - Best Light Feature - Emily Baucum

2013 Murrows:
Overall Excellence: "KOMO 4 News" Staff
Breaking News: "May Day Mayhem" Staff

WICS Springfield, IL
AP Award - Best Reporter - Shantel Middleton
AP Award - Best Investigative Report -"Ready, Set, Shred" - Vince DeMentri/Katie McManus-Faye/Becky Clark/Adam Theilken
1st Place - Best Sports Report - Jeremy Rauch

WTVM/WSTM Syracuse, NY
Best Serious News Feature – "At Home With Baby Easton"
A Saint for Central New York documentary was nominated for Best Writer: Program, Best Craft Specialty Research
Best Photographer: Program - Andy Wolf

WPBN Traverse City, MI
Michigan Association of Broadcasters:
Best Weathercast - 5pm - Chief Meteorologist, Mark Watkins
Best Feature - A Special Bond - Reporter, Erika Erickson

2013 Society of Professional Journalists Northwest Excellence in Journalism
Investigative: 1st place, 2nd place, 3rd place

View the complete list of recent awards


© , Sinclair Broadcast Group